First Date — OKCupid Style!

by Baz

“Above photo: Downtown San Francisco. I took this with a Nikon D90 + Sigma 85mm f/1.4”

I signed up for an OKCupid account a few weeks ago and somehow garnered a first date from a woman who is absolutely gorgeous and strong-willed. I’m a little apprehensive, to be honest, mainly because I haven’t really dated since breaking up with my ex-girlfriend. Seriously, though, what am I supposed to talk about?! Commonalities? Life stories? Hmm, I really don’t want to bore her with my silly interrogatory questions. Would anyone, preferably experienced daters, be able to give me a few tips with this first date?

Anyway, she’s kind of the indie type like me, so I’ve decided to take her to a really cozy, wholesome, and vintage-like cafe. I’m hoping the setting of our date will ease the situation and lighten the mood. I’ve actually been hyping up this cafe through a lot of our texts, and she seems to be excited; I’ve also kept the element of surprise (I haven’t told her the name of the place, yet). So I hope I’m doing everything OK.

What I’m really strung up on is how to keep this beauty interested in me. Does the interest just magically happen? I feel as if first dates through online dating are “hit-and-miss.” You know, it’s not one of those dates that erupts from college or through work, where you each have a glimpse of who this person is. Dating via OKCupid is totally random. However, I don’t lie on my profile, and my pictures are current, so maybe I’m just over-thinking things here. Ugh, I definitely need to start dating more often. Haha.

Through all of this, and whether it goes extremely well or completely awful, the experience I gather is what’s most important. Don’t people usually say that life requires risks to obtain what you want? I think so. Which is why I’m going to date the shit out of this woman tomorrow. I’ll bring my A-game, buy her dinner, and be the best damn gentleman I can be. Wish me luck!

