A date with a Filipino

by Baz

“Photo above: Times Square, New York. I took this with a Nikon D7000 and a Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8”

After coming back to the local community college to further my career, I still don’t know the exact reason for why I signed up for OKCupid. With the many beautiful women surrounding me at school, it should be a no-brainer to go out and ask a lovely gal to study with me. But I always seem to be near a computer. So it happened. I messaged a few people. And I went out on a date last night.

Being Filipino, my date abided by her stereotypical “Flipino Time” by showing up twenty minutes late. Figures. This didn’t really bother me–I luckily had the radio and a few physiology notes to fumble through. Around 9:25pm, she called me as she walked up to the Veronese Cafe in Fullerton. Of course, and I suppose this is common for online profiles (from what I’ve heard), she looked different from what I viewed online. Immediately, I knew that I fell for those damn MySpace angles. My “fuck it” attitude soon ensued, and we ended up talking throughout the night while drinking our peach and strawberry slushes over existentialism, our jobs, and her family. Being a natural Pisces, I listened throughout most of the conversation and added my little tidbits of advice here and there. She liked this, though, and told me many times throughout the night. Plus one for me, right?

After the Veronese Cafe, she took me to some of her favorite spots around Downtown Fullerton. Notably, the Night Owl Cafe and The Continental Bar. I was actually impressed with her choices because these places hit the spot for a late night date. Fruit tarts and cheesecake (with a few shared cigarettes) at the Night Owl Cafe and a Redbull and Vodka (with a few more shared cigarettes) at the Continental Bar. We danced for a little around the sweaty masses of people out on a Friday night and eventually headed out to her friend’s house party. By the time I left, it was 4:30am. That was the end of the date.

From my point-of-view, last night’s date went well, however, it’s hard to say if I felt anything physical for this date. She’s nothing out of the ordinary, and definitely not a crazy serial killer (Sweet!). She has a great personality, and her life stories are intensely intriguing to me.

Like everyone else, I’m dating to narrow my field of interest and see exactly what I like. Love doesn’t show up as a Christmas present or on your birthday with a red bow around it. It’s a process, and you have to work hard for it. Meeting new potential individuals is an experience in itself, regardless of the good or bad. And experiences are what shape our lives. I’ll continue forward with this and see where it goes.

-Basel

