The Binge

by Baz

I recently binged on technology and bought myself a new MacBook Pro and a Galaxy SIII, both terribly expensive items. My old MacBook was still relatively new but somehow fell off its high-horse, leaving me unable to update it and therefore causing it to be ridiculously slow and incompatible with a few programs that I desperately needed to use. My Galaxy SIII was my very first smartphone purchase, finally enabling me to use internet on-the-go. With T9 texting out of the way, I’m slowly becoming accustomed to the touchpad, though autocorrect is currently pissing me off at the moment.

What can I say after all of this? Well, I definitely feel “connected” to the world. Life has become a bit easier to deal with, as I can quickly check email, my blog, and various other websites with the touch of an app. I can even use GPS and snap high quality photos with a gorgeous 8 MP camera.

I’m really grateful for both of my new toys. Really, I am. But I’ve noticed a few lifestyle changes as well. With the new computer around, I feel as if I’ve always been on it. I haven’t been anti-social per se, but I’m easily conforming to loner-satus much more than I used to. Everything is so fast; programs are downloaded with ease, and switching between websites online occurs in less than a second. It seems that all I want to do is download shit, stream on Hulu, and download some more. Geezus. Also, with the new phone, I hardly pay attention to the world around me. I used to “people watch” all of the time. Wherever I went, and when I had to wait for a friend, I would always check out the crowd or browse the shops around me. Now, you’ll more than likely find me on a bench with my eyes glued to my phone. I used to study and pay attention in class. And I used to write with pens and pencils to jot down notes of random things in my life. None of this occurs as much as it used to. I’ve literally immersed myself with my generation in a matter of a week.

The binge on technology will help me. I believe it to be so. Because I’ve become connected to the world, I’m quickly associating myself with Facebook (and FB Messenger), Yelp, and Instagram. People that I haven’t talked to in ages are already adding me as friends and liking my photos. They’re also commenting on my photos as if we’ve never stopped talking (which we did in high school). It’s amazing, because now I can easily ask someone to hang out via Facebook, Yelp or Instagram.

But after using them so much, and figuring out the many whimsical things about them, I’ve begun to see how trite they really are. I’m tired of checking my social media every few minutes because of a notification. I want to own the phone, not have the phone own me. Ya feel me, world? From now on, I plan to keep the new toys at bay and experience life. Not as a robot, but as a human being. Plus, my data is running out, so I need to keep that shit on check.

